Bush pilot, military, airline and display pilots to receive Air Pilots 2014 Awards

Cathay Pacific 780 following evacuation on the runway at Hong Kong

Cathay Pacific 780 following evacuation on the runway at Hong Kong

A ‘bush pilot’ who tied a car tow rope to his helicopter to rescue eleven victims from a swollen river in South Africa is among the aircrew recognised in the 2014 awards from the Honourable Company of Air Pilots. The awards for courage, achievement and highest standards of airmanship are regarded among the world’s premier aviation accolades.

Other aircrew to be recognised include the Captain and First Officer of an Airbus A330 airliner, who successfully landed in Hong Kong after a contaminated fuel supply first caused both engines to fail, then left one engine jammed on a high power setting. The awards will also recognise the bravery of a Chinook helicopter crew who extracted Army soldiers under heavy and sustained gunfire in Afghanistan, and the endeavours of the captain and crew of an RAF C-17 Globemaster who successfully evacuated 275 civilians from Juba in wartorn South Sudan.

In addition, a crew from ‘Rescue 193’, the Sea King helicopters of 771 Naval Air Squadron at RNAS Culdrose has been awarded The Prince Philip Helicopter Rescue Award for the second time in three years.

Other awards recognise the achievements of BAE Systems’ Combat Aircraft Chief Test Pilot Mark Bowman; air display pilot John Beattie MBE; The Blades, Britain’s only full-time civilian formation aerobatic team and Hybrid Air Vehicles, for their innovative airship design. The coveted Aviation Journalism award has this year been made to the BBC “Helicopter Heroes” production team.

The nominees will receive their awards at London’s medieval Guildhall on Thursday 23 October 2014. Among those receiving awards are military aircrew, test pilots, flying instructors, private pilots and newly qualified trainees. All have been chosen for their commitment to the highest flying standards. The Air Pilots awards are particularly noteworthy because the recipients are selected by fellow pilots.

Read more about the award recipients at www.airpilots.org.